Inspirational · wellness

18 Affirmations for Anxious Moments

It’s raining again, folks. The end of winter in Eastern Kentucky is temperamental, to say the least. In the last 2 weeks, we’ve had severe flooding followed by snow, and right now everything is covered in mud. Much of this week has been spent in concern over family members and friends who are ailing. I had to return to the hospital where my Mom passed away; it was definitely a grief trigger day.

In spite of these difficulties (and partly because of them), I am determined to stay in alignment and make a positive post. By staying in alignment, I mean doing the things that contribute to overall health and wellness. I’m happy to say I’ve been to the gym twice a week for the last two weeks; in addition, I’ve met my exercise goal 4 times a week. I have not lost one pound. But, that’s okay. I’m rebuilding stamina and bringing consistency back into my routine.

That said, I’ve had to work super hard to stay positive. Even though I have a Masters in Counseling, I am not an expert on this topic. Have I mentioned I’m a realist who struggles with being upbeat? Since this is not my wheelhouse, let me refer you to someone with more expertise; meet author and life coach, Jenn Stevens. The power of positivity and benefits of daily affirmations are outlined in Steven’s post here: https://www.thealignedlife.co/how-to-retrain-your-brain-with-affirmations/

According to Mind Tools, “Affirmations are positive statements that can help you to challenge and overcome…negative thoughts. When you repeat them often, and believe in them, you can start to make positive changes.”

Now that you know more about the benefits of retraining your brain, let’s discuss some daily affirmations I’ve been utilizing for awhile now. Not only does this list help with having a good outlook, but it also aides me in terms of anxiety and stress management.

1. I am worthy

2. I can do hard things

3. There are better days ahead

4. This too shall pass

5. I am living my best life

6. I choose joy

7. I am strong and prosperous

8. Love surrounds me

9. I practice kindness

10. My mental health is a priority

11. My mind is focused

12. I release negativity

13. I’m at peace with the past

14. I know how to keep going

15. It’s a new day

16. I look for the good

17. I pray and let go

18. I’ve got this

The key to these affirmations is using them with force, focus, and frequency. Referring to the list this week has helped me keep a peaceful center in anxious moments. Between mediating on scriptures and working on my thought life, I am able to do the things. Remember, just as with scripture, it is not the knowing, but the doing (i.e. abiding in) that counts.

Psalms 4:8 – “I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, LORD, only makest me dwell in safety.”

Yours in wellness,

Andi

10 thoughts on “18 Affirmations for Anxious Moments

  1. Thanks for sharing! Getting a little anxious these days is something new to me. I used to be laid back, and recently things got me more hyped up than usual. I enjoyed reading through your list. I will add many to another affirmation I heard recently that I have been trying to repeat- “don’t be so hard on yourself.”

    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I should have commented here instead of just on Twitter! Thanks for these great affirmations. It is weird how we need to be reminded to remind ourselves of these things. Thank you for this great list. I will also add “Don’t be so hard on yourself” to mine!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment